All Courses offered at Muhimbili University

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Muhimbili University of Health & Allied Sciences (MUHAS) is the premier Institution of Health and Allied Sciences in Tanzania. The University enjoys the reputation of being the oldest and largest public University training health professionals in the country.

Founded in 1963 as the Dar es Salaam School of Medicine, the School evolved to the Muhimbili University College of Health Sciences (MUCHS) in 1991 and then grew into a fully accredited University in 2007.

MUHAS has two campuses; Muhimbili Campus and Mloganzila Campus. Muhimbili Campus is situated in Ilala Municipality, in Upanga along United Nations Road.

Mloganzila Campus is located 3 km off Dar es Salaam-Mbeya highway, 25 km from Dar es Salaam. VISION A university excelling in quality training of health professionals, research and public service with a conducive learning and working environment.

MISSION To provide quality training, research and services in health and related fields for attainment of equitable socio-economic development of the Tanzanian community and beyond.


The University has five (5) Schools and two Institutes (2) that have the best academic staff profile in the field of health and allied sciences in Tanzania. The University gives higher priorities on quality course development, delivery and successful outcomes for graduates.

All Courses offered at Muhimbili University – Kozi Zinazotolewa na Chuo Kikuu cha Muhimbili

Diploma and Advanced Diploma Programmes – Institute of Allied Health Sciences

  1. Diploma in Environmental Health Sciences
  2. Diploma in Diagnostic Radiography
  3. Diploma in Orthopaedic Technology
  4. Diploma in Pharmaceutical Sciences.
  5. Diploma in Nursing
  6. Advanced Diploma in Dermatovenereology

All Degree Programmes – Offered at Muhimbili University

  1. Doctor of Medicine (MD) Duration: 5 Years
  2. Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS) Duration: 5 Years
  3. Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Sciences
  4. Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Sciences in Clinical Chemistry
  5. Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Sciences in Haematology and Blood Transfusion
  6. Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Sciences in Histotechnology
  7. Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Sciences in Microbiology and Immunology
  8. Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Sciences in Parasitology and Medical Entomology
  9. Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Sciences Duration: 3 Years
  10. Bachelor of Science in Radiation Therapy Technology (BSc RTT) Duration: 3 Years
  11. Bachelor of Pharmacy (BPharm) Duration: 4 Years
  12. Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BScN) Duration: 4 Years
  13. Bachelor of Science in Environmental Health Sciences (BSc EHS) Duration: 3 Years
  14. Bachelor of Biomedical Engineering (BBME) Duration: 3 Years


Master Degree Programmes and PhD Programme – Offered at Muhimbili University

Various Master degree programmes and PhD programmes are offered through the School of Medicine, School of Pharmacy, School of Dentistry, School of Nursing, School of Public Health and Social Sciences and Institute of Traditional Medicine as follows

School of Medicine | Master of Medicine – Offered at Muhimbili University

  1. Anaesthesiology (MMedAnaesthesiology)
  2. Anatomical Pathology (MMedAnat Path)
  3. Clinical Oncology(MMed Clinical Oncology)
  4. Emergency Medicine (MMed Emergency Medicine)
  5. Haematology and Blood Transfusion (MMed Haemat and BT)
  6. Internal Medicine (MMed Internal Medicine)
  7. Microbiology and Immunology (MMed Micro/ Immuno)
  8. Obstetrics and Gynaecology (MMed Obs and Gyn)
  9. Ophthalmology (MMed Ophthalmology)
  10. Orthopaedics and Traumatology (MMed O/T)
  11. Otorhinolaryngology (MMed ORL)
  12. Paediatrics and Child Health (MMedPaed and Child Health)
  13. Psychiatry and Mental Health (MMed Psych and Ment Health)
  14. Radiology (MMed Radiology)
  15. Surgery (MMed Surgery)
  16. Urology (MMed Urology)


Master of Science – Offered at Muhimbili University

  1. Anatomy
  2. Biochemistry
  3. Clinical Pharmacology
  4. Clinical Psychology
  5. Haematology and Blood transfusion
  6. Microbiology and Immunology
  7. Physiology

Master of Science Super-specialisation

  1. Cardiology
  2. Haemotology and blood transfusion
  3. Medical Gastroenterology and Hepatology
  4. Nephrology
  5. Neurology
  6. Neurosurgery
  7. Paediatric Haematology and Oncology
  8. Respiratory Medicine
  9. Surgical Gastroenterology and Hepatology


  1. Post doctoral studies

School of Pharmacy | Master of Pharmacy

  1. Hospital and Clinical Pharmacy
  2. Industrial Pharmacy
  3. Medicinal Chemistry
  4. Pharmaceutical Microbiology
  5. Pharmacognosy
  6. Quality Control and Quality Assurance

Master of Science

  1. Pharmaceutical Management


  1. Post doctoral studies

School of Dentistry | Master of Dentistry (MDent) programmes

  1. Community Dentistry (MDent Comm. Dent)
  2. Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (MDent Oral Maxill of Surg)
  3. Oral Pathology ( MDent Oral Path)
  4. Paediatric Dentistry (MDent Paed Dentistry)
  5. Restorative Dentistry (MDent Rest Dent)


  1. Post doctoral studies

School of Nursing | Master of Science programmes

  1. Master of Science in Nursing Critical Care and Trauma (MScNCrit Care)
  2. Master of Science in Nursing Mental Health (MScNMent Health)
  3. Master of Science Midwifery and Women Health


  1. Post doctoral studies

School of Public Health and Social Sciences | Master of Arts

  1. Health Policy and Management (M.A HPM)

Master of Bioethics

  1. Master of Bioethics (MBE)

Master of Medicine

  1. Community Health (MMed Comm. Health)

Master of Public Health (MPH)

  1. Master of Public Health (MPH)
  2. Master of Public Health Executive Track (MPH Executive)
  3. Master of Public Health Distance Learning (MPH Distance Learning)

Master of Science

  1. Applied Epidemiology (MSc AE)
  2. Behaviour Change (MSc BC)
  3. Behavioural Change Communication for Health (MSc BCC)
  4. Environmental and Occupational Health (MSc EOH)
  5. Epidemiology and Laboratory Management (MSc ELM)
  6. Parasitology and Medical Entomology (MSc PE)
  7. Tropical Diseases Control (MSc TDC)
  8. Health Information Management (MSc HIM)


  1. Post doctoral studies

Institute of Traditional Medicine | Master of Science

  1. Traditional Medicines Development (MSc Trad Med Dev)


  1. Post doctoral studies

I am a founder of, with a focus on covering important tech information and Tanzania Updates. Email:

Write A Comment