EducationLife Style

Examination Types and Formats – NECTA

The National Examinations Council of Tanzania (NECTA) is Government Institution which was established by the Parliamentary Act No. 21 of 1973. NECTA is responsible for the administration of all National Examinations in Tanzania.

The decision to establish NECTA was a follow-up of an earlier move, in April 1971, when Tanzania Mainland pulled out of the East African Examinations Council (EAEC) to conduct her own examinations. Zanzibar pulled out of EAEC in 1970.

NECTA examination format 2019 | structure of necta | function of necta | marking scheme necta 2019 | fomati mpya kidato cha sita | necta past papers | necta form | necta 2018

Before the pull out, between 1968 and 1971, Tanzania sat for foreign Secondary School Examinations conducted jointly by the East African Syndicate, which before then were conducted by the Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate alone.
Form four examination format 2020 | necta examination format 2019 | format ya necta form four 2020 | necta examination 2019 | necta grading system 2019 | form two necta format 2019 | new format form six pdf | necta news
The Examinations conducted by the Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate then were the School Certificate and the Higher School Certificate Examinations. The School Certificate Examinations was taken by the African Students for the first time in 1947 and that of the Higher School Certificate in 1960.

1. Standard Four National Assessment (SFNA)

  • Standard Four Examination Formats – LINK

2. Primary School Leaving Examination (PSLE)

  • Standard Seven Examination Formats – LINK

3. Form Two National Assessment (FTNA)

  • Form Two Examination Formats – LINK

4. Qualifying Test (QT)

  • QT Examination Formats – LINK

5. Certificate of Secondary Education Examination(CSEE)

  • Form Four Examination Formats – LINK

6. Advanced Certificate of Secondary Education Examination (ACSEE)

  • Form Six Examination Formats – LINK

7. Grade A Teachers Certificate Examination (GATCE)

  • GATCE Examination Formats – LINK

8. Grade A Teacher Special Course Certificate in Special
Needs Education (GATSCCE)

  • GATSCCE Examination Formats – LINK

9. Diploma in Secondary Education (DSEE) 

  • DSEE Examination Formats – LINK

You May Also Like


I am a founder of, with a focus on covering important tech information and Tanzania Updates. Email:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button